Governor’s Conservation Achievement Awards

Please join us in honoring the 2017 award winners at the Governor's Conservation Achievement Awards Banquet, which will be held at Embassy Suites in Cary, NC on Saturday, September 8, 2018!

Each year, the North Carolina Wildlife Federation presents the prestigious Governor's Conservation Achievement Awards to honor individuals, associations, businesses and others who have exhibited an unwavering commitment to conservation in North Carolina. By recognizing, publicizing and highlighting these conservation leaders – from professionals and volunteers to young conservationists and lifelong conservation heroes – the North Carolina Wildlife Federation hopes to inspire all North Carolinians to take a more active role in protecting the natural resources of our state.

NCWF first presented its conservation awards in 1958. With the approval of the Governor, the annual program was designated as the Governor’s Conservation Achievement Awards – the highest natural-resource honors given in the state. The awards committee is comprised of qualified and dedicated conservationists who review all nominations and select the winners.

“This awards program brings together a remarkably diverse group of conservationists to highlight the ‘good news’ about wildlife conservation in North Carolina,” said Awards Committee Chair, Eddie Nickens. “Our primary focus is to applaud and honor these people who work so hard for wildlife and the air, water, land, that they and all of us depend upon.”

View pictures from last year's Awards banquet.


If you are interested in becoming a sponsor of the Awards Banquet, please contact Dom Canavarro at or (919) 833-1923. Read more about Awards Sponsorship opportunities.

Meet our past winners and members of the North Carolina Conservation Hall of Fame

2016 | 2015 |  2014 | 2013 | 2012 | 2011 | 2010

North Carolina Conservation Hall of Fame

Dr. Fredrick S. Barkalow, Jr.

Turner W. Battle

Dr. Roland P. McClamroch

Clyde P. Patton

Stanton Inscoe

Walter McNairy

Hugh G. Chatham

Macy L. Hoyle

Frank E. Copeland

James P. Yount

Charles R. Shaw

Chester W. Arnold

Phillip H Bracewell

L.A. Dixon

Rex Gary Schmidt

Wayne Bailey

Dr. Thomas Quay

Margaret C Nygard

Thomas W. Reese

James W Dean

John Lentz

Bryan Upchurch

Ross O. Stevens

Duane Raver, Jr.

Eddie Bridges

John Runkle

John E. Pechmann

Fred Stanback

Dr. F. Eugene Hester

Support the North Carolina Wildlife Federation

Gather your family and friends and plan your next outdoor adventure for one of North Carolina’s many unforgettable natural destinations. Help NCWF preserve wildlife and wild places for our children and future generations to come.